Search billions of records on

The Darrell Awards

Promoting Literacy in the Mid-South by Recognizing the Best Published SF, Fantasy and Horror
Begun by the Memphis SF Association  (MSFA)
Now A Project of the Mid-South Science Fiction & Fantasy Association (MSSFFA)
Underwritten by generous support from the Mid-South Science & Fiction Conventions, Inc. (MSFCI)

The Darrell Awards are given in memory of Dr. Darrell C. Richardson (see bio -> here).
The Dal Coger Memorial Hall of Fame Awards are given in memory of Dr. Dalvan Coger (bio pending).

The 2008 Darrell Awards Jury has completed its deliberations and made its choices. This year, we presented Darrell Awards for Best Midsouth SF/F/H fiction in Short Story, Novella, and Novel categoriess, as well as inducting a new honoree into the Dal Coger Memorial Hall of Fame. We also gave Honorable Mention recognition to two works in the Other Media category. 

It gives me great pleasure to announce that the 2008 Hall of Fame inductee is
Eric Flint for his outstanding body of Science Fiction, Fantasy and/or Horror Fiction, some of which is set within the Midsouth, especially 1812: The Rivers of War and 1824: the Arkansas War. Mr. Flint was the Author Guest of Honor at MidSouthCon 26, held the weekend of March 28-30, 2008, during which he was inducted into the Hall of Fame. 

The winners of the Short Story, Novella, Novel and Other Media Darrell Awards were announced at the Midsouthcon 26 Banquet on Saturday, March 29, 2008, at the Holiday Inn Select on Airways at Democrat, here in Memphis, Tennessee. Please check back here for a report on this wonderful event. In the meantime, here is a recap of the Results

For a list of Finalists for the 2008 Darrell Awards, please see the 2008 Finalists page. 

Thank you to Sylvia Cox, Barbara Gatewood, Don Richardson, Eric Groff, Jerry Hager and Brad Robinson for their participation in the 2008 Darrell Awards Jury and to Neale Carter and Michael Kingsley for serving as additional readers on these works. Special thanks to Kingsley for finding so many of the works that we considered this year -- he is the best "bird-dog pointer" for this we have ever seen. 

The 2009 Darrell Awards Jury, chaired by the very able Barbara Gatewood, is now meeting. Please contact Barb at if you would like to participate, either as a Reader or a full-blown Member of the Jury. 

-- Tim Gatewood, Chairman, 2008 Darrell Awards Jury
a project of the Mid-South SF&F Association
with support from MSFCI

For more info on MSFCI and Midsouthcon, please see their website at

A Statement about The Recipients of these Awards

The Darrell Awards and the Dal Coger Memorial Hall of Fame Award are given annually in recognition of the best published work out of those which qualify and which were nominated. The focus of the Darrell Awards and the Hall of Fame is upon the work itself, not the author of that work.

As these authors are (mostly) still living at the time that their respective Darrell Awards are presented (or at the time that they are inducted into the Coger Hall of Fame), there is always the possibility that any of the authors whose work was thus recognized could go on to do something wrong or to take some other bad action.

In short, we do not endorse any actions taken or alleged to have been taken by any of those  authors who have received these Awards, other than the writing of the work which received the Award.

The Darrell Awards Jury and the Mid-South SF&F Association (MSSFFA) have adopted a policy on dealing with authors whose works were nominated and who later commit bad acts. In brief, we will not provide any further publicity for such authors, they will be deemed ineligible for any future consideration, and they will not be included in any anthology or other materials which we may produce or license or otherwise authorize. What constitutes a bad action sufficient to fall within this policy will be determined on a case-by-case basis by the Jury and/or MSSFFA.

About our Darrell


2009 Qualfications Sheet   
1 page list of the 
7 important points 
in pdf format

Darrell Awards Rules --
the current policies of 
the Jury 
in pdf format. 

Hall of Fame

Winners Index 

NOTICE to Nominees

2008 Results 

2007 Results

2008 Nomination Forms

2006 Semifinalists

2006 Winners in pdf

2005 Results - first rough 
draft based on notes taken at 
the time 

Please note: we do NOT release a list of those works that have been merely nominated. This is because nominations are open to all; so, even the author or publisher or a relative or friend could nominate the work. This means that it is not (as they say at the big time award shows) "an honor merely to be nominated" -- it is simply the first step in getting the work officially considered by the Darrell Awards Jury. Also, every year, we see some works that are nominated which do not qualify or which are too poor-quality for us to lend any support to them. So, for all these reasons, we do NOT confirm or deny that any particular work has been nominated. 

In case you are curious, here is the list of : 2008 Finalists by Category and here are the 2008 Winners by Category.

For a list of the previous Winners and others receiving recognition, please see the Winners page which includes 1996 through 2007 winners. (2008 winners will be added to that page soon.) 

If you know of any works that you believe qualify, please note that the DEADLINE for nominations for the 2009 Darrell Awards has now been set as January 1, 2009. The period of publication now under consideration has also been revised -- you can nominate works published from November 1, 2007, through October 31st, 2008 for the 2009 Darrell Awards. Works published after October 31, 2008 would have to wait until next year for consideration. Works published before November 1, 2007 might qualify the author for a Hall of Fame nomination, as that is not limited to any given period of publication. 

Please see the link on the left to the Qualifications Page before you nominate a work, ok?  Contact Tim Gatewood (at memphissf at cs dot com - spelled out here to limit spam), Chairman Emeritus of the Darrell Awards Jury for a Nomination Form. 

We are now accepting nominations for the 2009 Darrell Awards. 

ANYONE CAN NOMINATE, even the author (or her agent or his publisher or their friends). All we ask is that you see the Nomination Form for details of how to nominate and what qualifies (or see the Qualifications page). It is also a Good Thing to send several copies (3 seems to work best, but as few as 2 will be gratefully accepted) of the work being nominated to make it easier for the Jury to actually read it, but that is not required. Of course, if the work is available in electronic format, you can send one copy (with NO digital rights management, PLEASE!) along with your email in which you nominate the work. 

We will be tweaking the rules and the list of what sort of info we need at our meetings in 2008 -- please check back here for an update on this.

For further information on the Darrell Awards, please contact Barbara Gatewood,  Chairperson, 2009 Darrell Awards Jury, 3125 South Mendenhall Road, # 353, Memphis TN 38115. Email:
For more info on the Mid-South SF&F Association, see the Official MSSFFA home page (MSSFFA).

We know that there are other awards given in SF (yeah, we know!)
Here's a page about Other Awards

Please let us know if you find any links on here that don't work --
please send email to : webmaster at darrellawards dot org.

This page was last revised on Friday, August 22, 2008.                   .